happyhiker logo



Privacy & Cookie Policy

My Walks

List of
Ordnance Survey Maps

Walking Time Calculator

Hiking Store


Finding Your way



Right to Roam

Footpath Closures


About Me/Site




Famous Walkers/Hikers


John Kelly
All Rights Reserved


Feedback button

Kindle Books

20 Yorkshire Walks with only one map OL21

Kindle book - My Lanzarote. 10 walks and a personal view

Kindle Book And A Pub For Lunch

20 Walks in the Yorkshire Dales with only one map OL2

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.



Clwyd borders the Irish sea and is classed as a "Preserved County", i.e it is the areas old name now mainly a ceremonial term. Following the Government (Wales) Act 1994, which created a system of unitary authorities, Clwyd was split into various parts. There were boundary changes in 2003 too. Altogether, it is all very confusing!

Traditionally, the Clwyd area was one of agriculture but with the Industrial Revolution, coal became important in the north and the expanding railway system brought tourists, and expansion of Llandudno, Colwyn Bay, Colwyn, Abergele, Rhyl and Prestatyn.

Part of Snowdonia is in the western part.


Scroll down to see Clwyd walks.

Clwyd Walks With "Traffic Light" Rating

For an explanation of the "traffic light "rating see My Walks page.

Each symbol = 2 miles

The start point for all walks can be located on Google Maps. Click here.

LLyn Crainant and Llyn Geirionydd Reservoirs

If you need to buy any hiking equipment/clothing before your trip see the Hiking Store


All information on this site is given in good faith and no liability is accepted in respect of any damage, loss or injury which might result from acting on it.